WASHINGTON, D.C. — A bipartisan resolution authored by U.S. Senators Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Tim Scott (R-SC) celebrating Black History Month and the important contributions made by Black Americans throughout history passed the Senate yesterday by voice vote.


The resolution “acknowledges that all people of the U.S. are recipients of the wealth of history provided by Black culture” and “recognizes the importance of Black History Month as an opportunity to reflect on the complex history of the U.S., while remaining hopeful and confident about the path ahead.”


It also “acknowledges the significance of Black History Month as an important opportunity to commemorate the tremendous contributions of African Americans to the history of the U.S.” and “encourages the celebration of Black History Month to provide a continuing opportunity for all people in the U.S. to learn from the past and understand the experiences that have shaped the U.S.”


Full text of the resolution can be viewed here.



The resolution is cosponsored by: Senators Kamala Harris (D-CA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Ed Markey (D-MA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Chris Coons (D-DE), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tina Smith (D-MN), Gary Peters (D-MI), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Mark Warner (D-VA), Doug Jones (D-AL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Angus King (I-ME), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Tom Carper (D-DE), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Jon Tester (D-MT), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Mike Braun (R-IN), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Rob Portman (R-OH), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (D-MS), Kelly Loeffler (R-GA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mike Rounds (R-SC), Richard Burr (R-NC), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Jim Risch (R-ID), John Cornyn (R-TX), Rand Paul (R-KY), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Richard Shelby (R-AL), Susan Collins (R-ME), John Boozman (R-AR), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Mitt Romney (R-UT), and Josh Hawley (R-MO).