Newark, N.J. – U.S. Senators Bob Menendez and Cory Booker (both D-N.J.) today applauded the Emergency Declaration issued to New Jersey for the damage inflicted on the state by Tropical Storm Ida. The storm caused historic flash flooding, tornadoes and record rainfall, and resulted in the tragic deaths of at least 23 New Jerseyans.

The senators last night led the entire congressional delegation in a letter urging President Biden to approve Governor Phil Murphy’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration, which will make the state eligible for more federal resources as areas recover from damage.

“For communities across New Jersey, this record-breaking storm has caused widespread devastation, and our state’s residents will need robust assistance in the coming days and weeks to rebuild,” said Sen. Booker. “I’m grateful to President Biden for his quick and decisive action that will provide New Jersey with the critical federal resources it needs to help with the immediate recovery efforts.”

“I thank President Biden for quickly approving Governor Murphy’s request for federal assistance. This is much needed federal relief for all of New Jersey’s 21 counties,” said Sen. Menendez. “From the tornadoes, to the flooding and torrential rain, communities across the state are now burdened with debris removal and widespread power outages. This will help communities begin the recovery process, get families out of harm’s way and our transit systems back up and running.”

In the letter, the lawmakers noted that FEMA Individual Assistance is needed to help New Jerseyans who were displaced from their homes due to flooding. FEMA Public Assistance is also critical in order to resume the state’s mass transit systems that millions of people rely on every day.

Last night’s letter was also signed by U.S. Representatives Donald Norcross (N.J.-01), Jeff Van Drew (N.J.-02), Andy Kim (N.J.-03), Chris Smith (N.J.-04), Josh Gottheimer (N.J.-05), Frank Pallone, Jr. (N.J.-06), Tom Malinowksi (N.J.-07), Albio Sires (N.J.-08), Bill Pascrell, Jr. (N.J.-09), Donald Payne, Jr. (N.J.-10), Mikie Sherrill (N.J.-11) and Bonnie Watson Coleman (N.J.-12).