WASHINGTON, D.C. –U.S. Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ) today praised the White House’s endorsement of the Equality Act, comprehensive legislation that would ban discrimination against LGBT Americans.


“I am grateful for President Obama’s support in our legislative fight to achieve justice and equality for those who endure discrimination due to their gender identity or sexual orientation. Brave men and women in every generation throughout America’s history have mustered the conviction to fight for freedom and equality against all odds - from abolitionists and suffragettes to civil rights activists. With each fight for justice, ordinary people have challenged our nation to become a more perfect union. The Equality Act would build on the work of those who have struggled and fought for LGBT rights and extend basic civil rights protections that must be guaranteed to every American.”


The Equality Act would ban discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity in a host of areas, including employment, housing, public accommodations, jury service, access to credit, and federal funding. The bill would also add protections against sex discrimination in parts of anti-discrimination laws where these protections had not been included previously, including in public accommodations and federal funding.


In addition to Senators Booker, Merkley, and, Baldwin, the legislation is cosponsored in the Senate by Senators Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chris Coons (D-DE), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Al Franken (D-MN), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Edward J. Markey (D-MA), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Patty Murray (D-WA), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Harry Reid (D-NV), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Tom Udall (D-NM), Mark Warner (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).


Video footage of Sen. Booker’s remarks from the press conference announcing the legislation this past July can be found here.


For further information about the Equality Act:

Download a brief summary of the bill

Download a section-by-section summary of the bill

Download the full text of the bill