September 25, 2024

The Honorable Shalanda Young Director Office of Management and Budget The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear Director Young:

We appreciate the Biden-Harris Administration's bold leadership and substantial efforts to remove nearly all lead service lines from across our nation within 10 years. The commitment to ensure safe, lead-free drinking water in every community has been evident through both federal investments and the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Lead and Copper Rule Improvements (LCRI) proposed rule that was published in December 2023 and submitted for finalization to the White House Office of Management and Budget's Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs in August 2024. This proposal represents another critical step forward that will protect public health, create jobs and ensure a better future for our children. We write to underscore the importance of finalizing the LCRI before October 16, 2024, to avoid a default implementation of the previous administration's Lead and Copper Rule Revisions (LCRR).

As you know, if the rule is not finalized by October 16, water systems and states will be required to start complying immediately with the deeply problematic LCRR. EPA concluded that temporary implementation of the LCRR rule from the prior administration will create bureaucratic complexity and confusion for regulated entities, waste scarce resources, result in widespread non-compliance and risk delaying or failing to realize the full benefits of the LCRI. *See* 88 Fed. Reg. at 84,903, 84,967-69. In addition to the unnecessary potential confusion and complexity, the prior administration's LCRR would put public health at risk by implementing inadequate policies that do not meaningfully address the lead contamination problems in communities across the country.

Finalizing the LCRI in a timely way also works to protect our most vulnerable. Lead service lines are disproportionately located in low-income communities and communities of color. This increased risk of lead-contaminated drinking water factors into disadvantaged communities' greater cumulative risk of lead exposure. Early lead exposure can lead to lasting behavioral and intellectual disabilities and research shows that children who were exposed to lead are more likely to have lower socioeconomic statuses than their parents in adulthood. But adults are not exempt from lead's impacts; exposure causes cardiovascular and renal problems as well as an increase in all-cause mortality. There is no safe level of lead exposure.

The commitment of the Biden-Harris Administration and its EPA extends beyond the LCRI, but a timely final LCRI is necessary to stop the ongoing environmental health crises. The \$15 billion in dedicated funding for lead pipe replacement and additional \$11.7 billion in grants, loans and principal forgiveness made possible through Congress's passage of Senator Duckworth's *Drinking Water and Wastewater* 

*Infrastructure Act*, included in the *Bipartisan Infrastructure Law* and other sources, need the proposed LCRI to be finalized to ensure safe and expedient implementation.

A timely final LCRI is necessary to immediately and urgently address lead contamination in communities across the country and remove the estimated 9 million service lines across the nation that contain lead. The final rule will ensure that safe and lead-free drinking water is available in all communities, and we look forward to continue working with you on this effort.

Sincerely,

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

flait

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

naunenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress

lamm

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

e Dincell

Debbie Dingell C Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Tinde J. ?

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

onathan L. Jackson lember of Congress

he

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

ersu

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

N Tokule Tokuda

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Benjamin L. Cardin

United States Senator

Meche

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Member of Congress

on din

Tina Smith United States Senator

res

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

4 d an

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

DIN

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Dan Goldman

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Junick , Kiedes

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

ala Stuni

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

ai

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Clarke

Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Jeffre

United States Senator

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Wilson Trederic

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

<u>III (7</u>

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Jack Reed United States Senator

Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Whn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

1. Stansbury

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Frost Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Gary C.Peters United States Senator

Juis

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Thomas R. Carper United States Senator

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

ligali

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

en Aoto

Darren Soto Member of Congress